Skip to content

Buffalo Trace is a Fine Bourbon

January 18, 2010

I have been out of bourbon for sometime now and after paying my bills and swinging a discount on my contact lenses and eye exam realized I had a little extra money.  This afternoon on my lunch break I made a trip over to ABC Liquors and bought a bottle of Buffalo Trace.  It is made by the Buffalo Trace Distillery in Frankfort, Kentucky and I had read rave reviews about how it stacked up to other bourbons.  I was very happy that there were 2 bottles on the shelf and purchased one for $25.99 plus tax.

After opening the bottle at home I poured a decent amount into an old-fashioned glass and took in the aroma.  It had a rich smell of vanilla and molasses that was very pleasant.  I swirled it around in the glass and noticed that it where it covered the glass it was very slow to retreat back down its sides.  I took a sip and noticed the sweet vanilla taste mixed with oak.  It felt like silk on my tongue and had a very pleasant mouthfeel.  The finish was long and again consisted of a mixture of sweetness and oak with the oak winning out at the end.

I did not notice any fruit flavors such as cherry that accompany Makers Mark and in my opinion Buffalo Trace was a different experience.  Perhaps it was the difference between a wheated bourbon and one made with rye.  However, I really enjoyed my first taste of Buffalo Trace and think it will become a mainstay in my cabinet along side of Makers Mark.

A- /$24.00 @ ABC Liquors

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 7:42 am

    Have to give it a try.

    After a bad experience in high school with a bottle of Jack Daniels, I could not enjoy drinking bourbon, scotch or whiskey. That smell would bring back near-death imagery.

    My Wife’s Grandfather helped me get over it.

    I’ve been sampling whatever I can.

    Recently I bought a small bottle of Gentlemen Jack. I’d have to say that will probably be the last. Very sweet aftertaste. I got to thinking it was some kind of crappy liqueur, but as best I could tell, it’s not.

    Your narrative seems to indicate you were drinking at work! Sounds like I need to go to law school!

  2. January 20, 2010 8:18 pm

    I have never had Gentleman Jack and wanted to try it until you said it taste like liqueur. I will not waste my money.

    No, I was not drinking at work! I would get nothing done. I edited my post in light of your inference to clarrify where the sampling of Buffalo Trace was done! 🙂

  3. January 20, 2010 9:03 pm

    Gentleman Jack is saccharine sweet.
    You may like it but I didn’t dig it.

    A friend bought me a small bottle of Knob Creek. I’ve bought a few bottles of that. I like nothing better than a good bourbon, scotch or whiskey, that can stand on it’s own.
    oh a camp fire or a good sunset helps or a shady thicket porch.

    Maker’s Mark is good.
    My wife’s ‘Bepa’ liked Evan Williams. I’d give everything I own to
    have another with him. At his Wake, we all had a shot of Evan Williams.

    • January 20, 2010 9:40 pm

      I like Makers Mark a lot. I had Knob Creek a few times a long time ago and cannot remember what I thought of it. I like bourbon because it’s made here in the USA and is not as pretensious as scotch. Back porches and sunsets do make a good bourbon even better!

      Cool story about having a shot of EW at your wife’s Bepa’s funeral by the way.

  4. January 20, 2010 9:09 pm

    those flickr pictures over on the margin remind me of ST. Marks.

    I went fishing there a few weeks ago.

    That part of Florida is so beautiful. I hope I can go fishing again soon up there.

    • January 20, 2010 9:22 pm

      Those were taken over near Panacea which is in the same general area as St. Marks. It is a very nice place to fish although I prefer Wakulla Beach.

  5. January 20, 2010 9:30 pm

    the sweetness of GJ is overt.
    I’ve found myself swirling a good bourbon and detecting an ‘implied’ sweetness or whatever you’d call it.

    maybe I prefer the deprivation of Knob Creek over GJ.

    Seriously, I had to ask my liquor connoisseur friend if GJ was a liqueur.
    I thought it was.

Leave a Reply

