Skip to content

Genghis Grill Lights My Fire

June 28, 2010

Fiery Noodle Bowl of Death

My friend invited me to lunch this afternoon and suggested we try a place we had not been to yet, Genghis Grill.  I had noticed it a few weeks ago in the spot on Apalachee Parkway that Bennigan’s used to occupy.  I had heard some good things about Genghis Grill and was eager to give it a try. 

I arrived a little after noon and by this time the parking lot was packed.  Thankfully I was able to grab one of the last two spots and after squeezing out of my car (nice parking job guy in the black Mazda) made my way towards the restaurant.

Upon entering the only similarity between Genghis Grill’s interior and the Bennigan’s of old was that they both had front doors.  Gone are the elevated bar area, wood paneling and Gaelic paraphernalia and in their place are a modern bar area, flat screen televisions, a huge round grill and a gong.   It had a college vibe to me and would not be out of place located somewhere on Tennessee Street . 

After finding my friend who had landed a high top table in the rear of the restaurant I tracked down our server and asked how to go about getting some stir fry.  She handed me a chrome bowl and instructed me to make my way toward what looked like a two-sided salad bar to assemble my meal.  She told me to select whatever kind of meat, seasoning, vegetable, sauce and starch I wanted and that the guys at the grill would cook my stir-fry to order.

I looked over my choices of protein and settled on marinated sirloin and some scallops.  To this I added some classic stir fry veggies, Asian chilies, mushrooms, broccoli, and a dash of seasoning salt.  For my sauce I settled on 3G and then made my way towards the grilling station as I tried to balance my overflowing bowl.  There I selected udon noodles as my starch and was given a number to place at my table so my stir-fry could find me in the throngs of patrons.

It took about 10 minutes for my stir fry to arrive.  It was brought to me in a large red angled bowl and was piping hot.  The meat and vegetables were cooked perfectly and amazingly my choice of seasoning and sauces worked out pretty well.  The only complaint I had was that it was a bit on the fiery side, but I had no one to blame but myself for including an excessive amount of spice in my bowl. 

While waiting for my meal to cook I noted with my friend that stir fry and only stir fry was on the menu.  There were no starters and it looked like that their dinner offerings were the same as their lunch offerings, namely build your own bowl of Mongolian stir fry.  This was the perfect place for a quick lunch or a casual dinner but would be less than thrilling for a special occasion, say an anniversary or birthday.

Overall I really enjoyed my meal at Genghis Grill!  Lunch was $8.95 plus tax and this included a wallet friendly selection of water over diet soda.  The service was also very good, and even with a large lunch crowd I was able to get in, eat my lunch and head out in under an hour.  

Black Coffee & Bourbon’s Rating:
Atmosphere: B
Taste: B+
Presentation: B
Service: B
Cleanliness: A
Price: $

Restaurant Info:
Genghis Grill
836 East Lafayette Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32301
(850)646-4444

Genghis Grill on Urbanspoon

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

