Skip to content

Three Years of Blogging

July 23, 2010

It’s been three years since I started my blog.  I have been able to write about the birth of my children as well as the passing of friends and family on its pages. It continues to be the easiest way for me to keep in touch with friends and family back home and has turned into my favorite hobby.  In three years I have posted 1152 entries, received 1061 comments and gotten 96,741 hits.  This year also marked the first time I was paid to blog (as I like to joke with Becks) when I received my first request to purchase ad space.

Recently it has become very difficult to update on a daily basis.  I attribute this to the birth of our second child, Miss Julia.  By the time Mason is in bed at night she either wants a bottle or refuses to be put down.  As a result, finding 10 or 15 minutes to sit down, collect my thoughts and write has become a luxury I cannot afford.

However, I came up with a solution.  I have been emailing myself blog entries when I have a quiet moment.  While this does not allow me to post daily, it does allow me to collect my thoughts as they happen and then post in a batch once or twice a week.  This may not be the best thing for a daily blog, but until Miss Julia gets on a schedule where I have a few moments to myself at night it will have to suffice.

Below is the meme I filled out last year in honor of my blog’s first birthday.  I have updated it to reflect the wisdom, insight and ability to be less sarcastic that a additional year of blogging has given me.

The rules are to list 3 events, 2 birthdays, one death and a holiday that occurred on your blogs’ birthday.

Events:

  1. 1793 – Prussia reconquers Mainz from Frace.
  2. 1986 – In London, Prince Andrew, Duke of York, marries Sarah Ferguson at Westminster Abbey.
  3. 1999 – ANA Flight 61 is hijjacked in Tokyo, Japan.

Birthdays:

  1. 1984 – Brandon Roy 
  2. 1985 – Luis Angel Landin

Death:

  1. 2008 –  Kurt Furgler 

Holiday:

  1. Renaissance Day (Oman)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

