Skip to content

Post Tampa Exhaustion

July 27, 2010

I got back to my house last night from Tampa at 2:00 a.m. When I opened the door the dogs started barking. I flipped the light on and told them to quiet down before they woke Becks and the babies up.  It was too late and in a moment I heard Becks shuffling into the kitchen toting a squirming Julia.

I gave her a kiss and told her since I was wide awake (thanks to a gigantic Red Bull I downed north of Gainesville ) I would feed Julia.  She handed her to me and went back to bed while I went into the living room to feed our little girl.

After sucking down 4 oz. of tasty formula Julia was asleep.  I snuggled her in next to me and shut the television off.  It was 2:30 a.m. and I hoped to get a few hours of sleep before Mason woke up. 

My plan was interrupted at 4:30 a.m. when Julia woke me up wiggling and hitting my face with her tiny hands.  Groggily I got up and went into the bedroom.  I shook Becks, handed her Julia and went back to sleep. 

Mason woke up at 5:15 a.m.  He was crying in his crib and I went in to check on him.  After opening the door he said “Hi daddy!” and extended his arms to be picked up.  I grabbed him and went back to bed with him clinging to me like a koala.  We slept snuggled up to each other until 7:15 a.m. when Becks woke me up.  It had been a short night of sleep but as I rubbed the sleep out of my eyes I was hoping that a large cup of coffee would wake my brain up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

