Skip to content

Computer Issue

July 30, 2010

I have an old iPod mini that served me well for many years. Since I got my iPod touch it has sat unused in the desk drawer.  Steve recently had his iPod stolen out of his truck and asked if he could have the old mini.  I told him absolutely and this evening he came over to pick it up.

The plan was to clean off the iPod mini, sync it with iTunes and then let Steve load it up with whatever music he wanted. Our computer was running slow so I shut it down and let it reboot.  It took forever to startup and when it opened to the desktop I could not open iTunes.  I shut it down again and waited a few moments before turning it back on.  It went through the same slow routine before freezing.  I was aggravated.

I really wanted to unplug it and toss it into the backyard.  This computer has been nothing but trouble since we bought it in 2005. It was sent back to the factory twice for a bad motherboard and a burnt out power unit.  I have spent hours on the phone with Hewlett-Packard reps in India named “Steve” and “Rick”. It still freezes on a weekly basis and I greatly dislike it.

Steve took the iPod home and I stayed up wrestling with the computer.  I ran both anti-virus and anti-spyware programs I had which found a couple of minimal things.  I also restored the system to an earlier date. Nothing worked. It continued to plod along and I could not open iTunes or Explorer. The systems resources finally spiked at 100% and it was done.  I clicked the screen off and walked away.  I am not sure how I am going to fix it, or if we will have to get a new computer. Time will tell.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

