Skip to content

A Venti Mocha Fueled Four Hour Drive

August 17, 2010

After hanging out in the bar at the Marriott World Center until 10:00 p.m. I had all I could take of the 65th Annual Workers’ Comp Convention.  I missed Becks and the kids and was not looking forward to spending another night away from them.  I also was not looking forward to waking up at the crack of dawn to drive home. Associates were not staying for Tuesday’s festivities and instead were supposed to leave whenever they could to get back and bill.

Once I said goodnight to my boss, his daughter and the adjusters we were talking to went off to find a suite I decided to load the car up and make the four-hour drive home.  While hanging in the bar I had grabbed a large cafe mocha from Starbucks before they closed and nursed it as the others sucked backs glass upon glass of wine.  By the time I was ready to roll the caffeine had kicked in and I was wide awake.

Although a 4 hour drive seems kind of long it is not too bad if you break it up into sections.  Orlando to Ocala is about 1 hour, Ocala to Gainesville is another hour, and the ride from Hogtown to the I-75/I-10 interchange takes up the 3rd hour.  The final hour runs from Lake City to Monticello.  Including two stops, one for gas I made it home in a little under 4 hours.   By the time I exited the highway in Monticello the caffeine buzz was wearing off and I was feeling tired. I got into the house without freaking the dogs our too much and was in bed by 2:30 a.m.  I was very happy to see my babies and be back home.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

