Skip to content

A Replacement Palm Pixi

August 18, 2010

I was driving to Orlando on Sunday afternoon when I tried to check my voicemail. When I put the phone on speaker it sounded garbled so I switched it back to the handset which sounded fine.  When Becks tried to call me the ringer did not sound right. Something was wrong with my phone and I was not happy about it since I would be relying on it heavily at the Workers’ Comp Convention to stay in touch with other attorney’s from my firm, clients and my family back home.   

Approaching Gainesville I checked the battery’s status and despite being charged overnight it was losing power.  I unplugged it from the charger and the phone shut off.  I tried to turn it back on but it refused to come back to life.  My phone was dead.

For some reason I grabbed my iPod touch on the way out of the house. This turned out to be a good thing since I was able to email Becks and my boss from a McDonald’s in Ocala about my phone’s demise.  For the rest of my trip my iPod and free wifi were the only things that let me stay in the loop.

Yesterday I went to the Sprint Store on North Monroe Street . I did not have insurance on the phone and fully expected them to tell me I was out of luck.  However, I was prepared. I knew that the insurance did not guarantee you the phone you had as a replacement phone and that the Palm Pixi’s had a one year limited warranty.

After explaining what happened the Sprint guy confirmed I had not dropped it in water, or rolled over it with my car and told me he would order me a new one.  It came in this afternoon and thanks to my Palm Profile having backed up all my contact information it is like I never lost my old phone.  I am very happy to have another Palm Pixi and hope this one last longer than my first!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

