Skip to content

2010 North Florida Football League Draft

August 27, 2010

2009 NFFL Champs

The 5th Annual North Florida Football League Draft was held last night.  The league again consist of 10 teams split up into two divisions.  I really like this as you play the teams in your division twice and the teams in the other division once for a total of 13 games. Qualification for the playoffs is the same as last year too. The top team in each division automatically qualifies and earns a bye.  The next 4 teams with the best records, regardless of division also will make the playoffs.  Trades have also been turned on for the entire season, despite the objections of some.  I think this change will increase interest in the league and make for a more exciting year.

Membership in the office is down to 4 teams (Ed wanted to focus on his other league where he can win money) while the remaining six are managed by other friends and family.  The 2010 edition includes 8 returning managers. In addition to my team they are Tom (Golden Eagles), Mike (Slippery Rock Tortfeasors) and Kirsten (Mootown Marauders) from work, Joe (Miccosukee Nimrods), Kirk (Lamont All Stars). Tyler (Monticello Cornish Hens), and Seth (Formerly the Leon County Lemons, now the Southwood Dolphins). To replace Ed and another manager I added Brian (Tallahassee Nitro Terrors) and my dad (Peabody Leather Tanners).

The draft order was set at random one hour before the draft and my stellar luck continued as I was stuck with the 10th pick.  I am getting used to being at the tail end of the first round and managed my draft accordingly.  Below are the players I got for the 2010 North Florida Seersuckers:

QB: Matt Schaub
RB: Pierre Thomas
RB: C.J. Spiller
WR: Randy Moss
WR: Larry Fitzgerald
WR: T.J. Houshmandzadeh
TE: Antonio Gates
D/ST: New York Jets
K: Lawrence Tynes

And my bench:

QB: Matt Ryan
QB: Donovan McNabb
RB: Darren Sproles
RB: Steve Slaton
WR: Kevin Walter
WR: Golden Tate

My wide receivers are pretty solid and Matt Schaub should have a good year.  I think that C.J. Spiller could be a Rookie of the Year candidate and think that Matt Ryan is a fantastic option as a backup QB. The only thing I am uncomfortable about as a Jags fan is having 3 Houston Texans on my team.   Who knows how the season is going to go but I really am happy that I get to defend my championship this season. Go Seersucksers!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

