Skip to content

Florida State vs. Wake Forest

September 25, 2010

The view from section 221

My friend sent me an e-mail earlier in the week asking if I wanted tickets to the Florida State vs. Wake Forest game.  He gave a few, and the plan was to take Mason to his first FSU game. However, as game day approached the doctor’s orders not to pick up my boy, and FSU’s restrictions on strollers quickly ruined my plan. I was really looking forward to bringing him to the game and was disappointed I could not.

Instead I brought along my brother-in-law and Krissy’s husband Noah who was visiting us from Jacksonville.  They had retrieved Becky’s items from the Volvo at the towing place and had come over this weekend to drop those items off and spend some time with us.  They were supposed to be in Monticello by 2:00 p.m. but did not arrive until after 2:30 p.m.

Mitch was already at the house when the arrived and after stopping to say hello we loaded up into the rental car and made our way towards Tallahassee.  I was concerned that we were not going to be able to find parking near the stadium, and that I would have to walk a long way, but amazingly we found a spot fairly close to Doak. 

By the time we made it into the stadium there were 10 minutes left in the first quarter.  Our tickets were for section 224, but when we walked through the tunnel at that end of the stadium it was practically empty. It was the smallest crowd I had ever seen at Doak Campbell Stadium for a Seminoles game. I know the game was not a marquee opponent, but it was the ‘Noles first ACC game and I was sad to see so few people in attendance. 

With all the empty seats in the end zone, instead of hiking to 224 we plopped down in section 221 right behind the Marching Chiefs.  We were the only people in the entire section which was nice. Without having to worry about being sandwiched in between people I could move around, stand up and sit down as needed when I became uncomfortable.

We watched the rest of the first quarter and the entire second. As the game progressed dark clouds started to roll into Tallahassee. After halftime the game was delayed due to lightning. There was no telling how long the delay would be and we headed for the exits with the ‘Noles in the lead.

We made it to the car before the game had resumed and listened to it as we drove back home. We were able to watch a good part of the fourth quarter on television and Florida State ended up winning the game by a final score of 31-0. The ‘Noles are now 3-1 on the season and 1-0 in the ACC.  

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

