Skip to content

Strolling Cows in Downtown Folkston

October 8, 2010

Two cows out for a stroll in downtown Folkston

This morning I travelled to Folkston, Georgia for work. Folkston is a small city in Charlton County that sits in the southeast part of the state. It is the gateway to the Okefenokee Swamp, Quick-Chik and a pretty decent high school football team.

I was working out of a room at the back of City Hall and things were running a bit longer than I had anticipated.  We decided to break for a few minutes and I went around front to stretch my legs and get something out of my car. When I got to the front of City Hall a small group of people was out front looking across the street.  I turned my head to see what they were watching and saw two cows.

The cows strolled through a parking lot and took a right up 1st Street towards Main. A few moments later a woman and her daughter came tearing through the parking lot. They had a panicked look on their faces and asked which way their cows went.  A woman pointed towards the direction the cows headed and they ran after them. 

With the unexpected excitement over the small crowd dispersed.  One of the City Clerks said seeing escaped cows run around downtown could only happen in Folkston and as we made our way back inside I showed her the picture I had snapped. She shook her head, let out a little laugh and smiled.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cindy Vandervort permalink
    October 15, 2010 10:01 am

    LOL! I miss home. Truly.

Leave a Reply

