Skip to content

Lamb Stew on a Chilly Afternoon

November 7, 2010

A couple of weeks ago we visited Golden Acres Ranch.  While I was there I picked up a package of cubed lamb meat to use for stew.  After defrosting it in some cold water I looked around for a recipe.  I had never made lamb stew but knew what I liked in mine.  The best I ever ate was at a small pub in Dublin. It came in a large shallow bowl with big chunks of lamb, potatoes, carrots and onions.  It was served with a big hunk of bread and I still recall enjoying it to the last drop.

In the end I made the recipe up based on my prior stew experiences. The end product was very good and hit the spot on a chilly North Florida afternoon.  Below is how I made my version of lamb stew:

Ingredients:
1 lb lamb cubed
3 good side potatoes, washed (I do not peel them, that’s where the vitamins are!)
3 good sized carrots, washed (Same thing, I leave the skin on for a more earthy flavor)
1 large onion
3 sprigs of thyme
box of chicken stock (I read to use lamb stock but could not find any)
salt and pepper
flour to dredge lamb

Directions:

  • Heat a cast iron dutch oven over medium high heat, toss a couple of tbs of oil in the bottom to coat.
  • Place flour (1/2 c. to cup) in a bowl, dredge the lamb in the flour and set aside.
  • When the pan is heated place lamb in to brown.  Once all sides are browned add the 1/2 box of chicken stock and scrape all the bits off the bottom. Reduce heat to medium and allow to simmer for 30 minutes.
  • Wash vegetables and place in pot with the lamb after 30 minutes.  Add the rest of the chicken stock and the thyme.  Add salt and pepper to taste. Allow to cook until veggies are tender, an additional 35-40 minutes. 
  • Server in a large shallow bowl with a hunk of bread and enjoy!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

