Skip to content

Eat More Buffalo

November 10, 2010

For some reason I cannot explain I wanted to cook some buffalo. I picked up a pound at Publix for $8.99.  Becks declined to partake in the buffalo which left more for Mason and me.  I decided to keep things simple and make some burgers out of it. 

I followed the same basic procedure I used to makes Becks’ Bomba Burger.  Mason got a smaller burger than I did and I also did not toast the buns.  I also cooked them medium-rare which is how I prefer my meat instead of the charred cinders Becks enjoys.  Once the buffalo was cooked you could not tell it apart from beef.  It also had a very good flavor that I found very comparable to beef.  Mason enjoyed his, ate all of it and asked for more. 

I am happy I found grass fed buffalo in the Tallahassee area.  It is supposed to be better for you than corn fed beef and I think I will try to work it into our menus in the future. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

