Skip to content

Bargains at Books-A-Million

November 23, 2010

During lunch on my way into Publix I noticed several carts of books outside the Book-A-Million.  On the side of each cart was a large sign indicating the prices of the books on each cart.  These ranged from a high of $5 to a low of $1.  Unable to pass up a deal I stopped to see what was on clearance. 

Verious books crammed the carts. Titles and author’s names lined their spines.  They shouted to be picked up and rescued from their bargain basement fate.  The books covered a variety of topics ranging from lawn care, to building a relationship with an adolescent daughter to humor.  I was joined by another deal seeker, a woman in her early 50s.  I noted that you could not go wrong at these prices. She agreed and said he favorite book were the Mad Libs marked down to a $1.

I  had nothing to lose and settled on 4 books.  If they are horrible I spent next to nothing on them but if they are enjoyable it will be $6.75 well spent.  These are the four I bought:

Homecoming by Bernhard Schlink

Edward Trencom’s Nose by Giles Milton

The Eaves of Heaven by Andrew X. Pham

The Film Club by David Gilmour

Seeing that I have not been able to finish reading a book since Miss Julia was born I am optimistic I will read the above by the time she is in college. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 8:14 am

    Hey Mike,

    What’s your preference for book types? Non-fiction/novels? Suspense? Just curious…I may be able to recommend some, although I don’t read nearly as much as I wish I did.

    I would certainly take you for a non-fiction/historical book kind of guy???

    Karl

    • November 24, 2010 9:02 am

      Hey Karl!

      You have me pegged correctly, I am a non-fiction/history book kind of guy. I prefer 18th and 19th century American History but am open to other eras too. I usually do not read fiction. One of the 4 I picked up yesterday, The Film Club, is non-fiction and pretty good. I tore through 75 pages last night after putting the kids to bed! Any recommendations you have would be appreciated!

      Have a great Thanksgiving!

      Mike

Trackbacks

  1. Black Coffee & Bourbon

Leave a Reply

