Skip to content

Black Friday and Christmas Decorations

November 26, 2010

The alarm went off at 4:00 a.m.  I shut it off as soon as my hand could find the button.  I pulled the covers up to my neck and turned over.  I did not want to get up, but also did not want to fall back to sleep.  A few minutes passed until I rolled out of bed and quietly dressed. Becks and the kids were taking this Black Friday off, leaving the bargain hunting to Charlotte and me. 

I was at Charlotte’s a little after 4:15 and we headed to Best Buy in Tallahassee.  She wanted to get a Wii, and since we were not trying to get any of the door busters we took our time.  When we arrived the line was all the way at the other end of the shopping center.  It took 20 minutes for us to make our way to the front.  Upon entering the store a mountain of Wiis were on our left and she selected a black one.  We made our way through the maze of people and checked out. 

Our next stop was Sam’s Club.  I wanted to get an HP mini 10.1 so Becks could research lesson plans for work in the living room instead of being stuck in the back.  I also wanted something I could use to blog with on a regular basis instead of trying to wrestle with our quickly fading desktop.  I was not sure where the netbook would be and I asked an associate if there were any left.  He told me they had just sold the last one.  I was depressed and made my way back to the car empty-handed. 

I checked the flyers to see if any other store had an HP mini 10.1 on sale.  None of them did, but I noted that both Office Depot and Best Buy had them in stock.  I ended up getting one from Best Buy.  I paid a little more than Sam’s Club had advertised.  However, it came with 6 months of tech support and anti-virus protection which made me feel better.

Our last stop of the day was Marshall’s where I picked up Becks a purse and Charlotte got a Christmas present for Mitch.  Before heading home we grabbed some breakfast at Waffle House.  It had been a fun morning. 

When I got home Becks was excited about her purse and the netbook.  The kids were both asleep and we used the alone time to our advantage and took a nap.  We were woken up by a plumber from Campbell’s plumbing.  While he cleaned the roots out of the pipe under our house (that was our problem!) Becks set up our new netbook.  It is a cool little computer and should be able to do what we want (e-mail, blogging and research on the web) with ease. 

With the netbook set up, and our pipes finally cleaned out we turned our attention to decorating for Christmas.  I got the tree out the shed along with the boxes of decorations.  Becks put on some Christmas music and we were joined by Peyton and Mitch.  After setting up the tree Becks decorated it while I did the mantle.  Mason played with the extra ornaments and curled up under the tree with his babies sucking on his thumb.  It was pretty adorable.

I laid him down for a nap and Becks finished trimming the tree.  Our house looks very festive and despite it being over 80 degrees outside it is starting to feel like Christmas!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 6:46 pm

    Netbooks! Argh!
    I can palm a basketball. I have two netbooks and both of them piss me off!
    They are not designed for big hands!
    And on the first one I bought, the shift key is smaller than the up arrow and the enter key is where the shift key is.
    I’m typing on one right now and I’ve gotten really good at backspacing to fix all the mistakes I make. I suspect that the netbook contributed to my diminished blog updates.

    • November 27, 2010 9:37 pm

      What kind of netbooks do you have? The keyboard on the one I purchased is 93% the size of a regular one. I also cannot palm a basketball, so it is pretty easy to type, even with my sausage fingers. So far I am a fan of it. I just plan to use it to blog etc., and not do any real “heavy lifting” with it.

  2. November 29, 2010 5:53 pm

    Both of mine are Asus Eeepcs.
    They are great for field work, And I wish they would make an e-paper display for them. I would swap out at least one display for the ability to read the screen in full daylight. Nearly a year ago I knocked a wall ornament down onto my first one.
    This destroyed the display.
    Laptops keep getting bigger and the netbooks allow for something small enough to always have it with me.
    Your model might be supported by the display. Replacing your display will void the warranty, but if you’ve seen the display on a kindle, I understand that the effect is the same and a longer battery life.

    http://www.makershed.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=MKPQ01

Leave a Reply

