Skip to content

Five Books More Books for 2011

January 21, 2011

Two weeks ago I read the last of the four bargain books I picked up from Books-A-Million for in November.  Three of the four were enjoyable with Edward Trecom’s Nose being the only stinker.  And really, I could not complain since I picked up all of them for $5 and change. 

My goal this year is to read 12 books in 12 months.  Before kids I would have torn through 12 books in no time, but with 2 kids (ages 2 and 8 months) it seems like a reasonable goal for 2011.  

This afternoon I headed over to the bookstore to see if they had any more deals. It was a damp, chilling North Florida day and there was a light mist falling as I walked from my car to the store.  I forgot my coat and was hoping the library carts full of bargains would be inside.  They were not.

The carts were full of books that I had not seen on my last trip and I started picking through them.  There was nothing in particular I was looking for but there were two requirements the books had to satisfy. First, they had to be hardcover and second they had to be something I could manage to read in a month.   This meant nothing too thick (under 700 pages and preferably smaller) and nothing too heavy.  By the time I finished digging through the carts I had picked out five books:

Mostly True by Molly O’Neill

The James Boys by Richard Libermann-Smith

Peace by Richard Bausch

The Other by David Guterson

The Montefeltro Conspiracy by Marcello Simonetta

The total price for the five books was $7 and change.  I looked them all up on Amazon.com when I got home read the reviews.  None of them got bad reviews and a few got pretty high marks.  I am looking forward to diving into one soon and hope that I can stay on pace to read one book a month for the rest of the year.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

