Skip to content

Back to the Basics of Making Sauce

January 24, 2011

Yesterday I made a pot of sauce and 40 meatballs.  The past couple of times I have made sauce I have not used Hunt’s products and experimented with other ingredients.  The result has been a sauce that would be best served in a retirement home where the residents are on sodium restrictions. 

As a result, I went back to the Hunt’s tomatoes favored by my Nana Bonfanti as the base of my sauce. I also used a can of Contadina tomato puree and two large cans of crushed tomatoes that were on sale for $0.98.  I also used a can of tomato paste, a whole onion, 5 cloves of garlic, some Italian seasoning and basil. 

My meatball recipe never varies and consisted of 2 lb ground chuck, 1 lb of ground pork, 1/4 cup grated Romano, handful of chopped parsley, 6 eggs, salt and pepper.  I also add just enough Italian breadcrumbs to bind he mixture together. 

Once I had my meatballs rolled out I fried them in my cast iron skillet.  Last time I baked then in the oven and they were not very good.  Frying may not be as healthy, but the results were much better this time. 

The sauce and meatballs sat on the stove over medium heat until the entire pot was warmed though.  Becky wanted spaghetti but I overruled her and we had rigatoni.  The sauce was good yesterday, but today it tasted even better.  My Nana would be proud. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. charlotte permalink
    January 27, 2011 1:29 pm

    I’m gonna try this.

Leave a Reply

