Skip to content

I Drove 3 1/2 Hours for Lunch

January 26, 2011

This morning I had an examination under oath scheduled in Pensacola, Florida.  After dropping the kids off at Miss Cherrie’s I made the 3 1/2 hour drive to the western edge of the state.  I was a little early so after locating the court reporter’s office I read over my file. 

I walked into the office and waited for the witness.  The minutes passed as I read the local Pensacola newspaper.  The court reporter eventually got up to make some lunch and I moved onto a magazine.  There was still no sign of the witness.

After 20 minutes I got up and went to the lobby.  The court reporter’s office was on the 8th floor and it would be easy to miss.  I waited 10 more minutes and asked a couple of people if they were the witness.  They all politely declined.

With no sign of the witness I asked the Court Reporter to issue a Certificate of Non-Appearance.  I decided that since I was in Pensacola to call my buddy who still works for Conroy.  We met up and he took me to lunch. It was nice to catch up with him and made the drive over feel less worthless. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

