Skip to content

Frying Chicken is Hard Work

January 30, 2011

Becky wanted fried chicken for Sunday dinner. Instead of agreeing to drive up to O’Neals (where the have it all prepared and all you have to do is eat it) I volunteered to make it.

It seemed like a good idea at the time as I walked down to Winn-Dixie and returned with a whole chicken.  I quartered the chicken and liberally salt and peppered the pieces.  While the meat soaked in the flavor I looked over the recipe Becky had found in one of her cookbooks. 

While the oil heated up on the stove I dredged the chicken in a mixture of egg and milk and tossed them in flour.  Once the oil was hot I dropped in a couple of pieces and listened to them crackle.  I waited for 8 minutes and turned the pieces over.  After 7 more minutes they were a perfect golden brown.  I sliced into the breast and it was raw. FML.

The chicken went back into the oil and the cooking process took much longer than I anticipated.  While one of the last couple batches was cooking Becky bumped the heat up to high.  This resulted in several charred pieces of semi-cooked chicken which went into the trash can. 

Frying chicken is harder than I thought it would be.  We ended up with some very tasty chicken but it was a lot of work.  Next time we either need to get a larger skillet, or head up to O’Neals. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. charlotte permalink
    February 5, 2011 8:16 am

    Believe this or not but your mom in law is the chicken frying queen ask her for tips

Leave a Reply

