Skip to content

Home Sick with a Fever

February 1, 2011

I woke up this morning at 1:30 a.m. I was freezing but my shirt was soaking wet. I stumbled up and found a dry t-shirt in my chest of drawers and crawled back into bed. At 3:30 a.m. I repeated the process. When Becky woke up she felt my head and said I had a fever. I took my temperature and it was 100.6.

I e-mailed work and told them I would not be into the office, but would stop in to get my computer and a file or two. I was dreading getting the kids ready and procrastinated as long as I could. At 7:00 a.m. I got Julia up and dressed. She had a big smile on her face and was a joy to get ready. Mason slept until 7:15 a.m. and was not happy that it was time to wake up. I struggled with him to get him dressed. When they were both loaded I collapsed in the front seat sweating and feeling like crap.

Once I had them safely inside I made the 20 minute drive into my office to grab my computer. I looked like hell and my coworkers were nice enough to point that out to me. I was in and out quickly so I could avoid spreading my germs.

I probably should have spent the morning on the couch but decided to draft a complaint. Despite running a fever and having to contend with 2 dogs and 1 needy cat it turned out pretty well. Thankfully by early evening I was feeling better.  The fever was gone by 6-ish and after finishing up work I took it easy for the rest of the night. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

