Skip to content

Sleeping Was a Challenge

February 11, 2011

Brent finished the floor today.  It looks amazing.  However, the house still reeked of polyurethane and for the second night in a row we decided to spend it at Steve and Charlotte’s house.  Sleeping there last night was a challenge.  Becky took Mason with her into the guest bedroom and I could hear them watching Sesame Street while I watched the end to the Florida State basketball game and tried to get Miss Julia to sleep.  She is used of sleeping in her room and I had to rock her to sleep and slide her into her pack and play.  She wiggled around for a few moments, curled up into a little ball and fell asleep.

With her asleep I decided to sleep on one of their couches with Jackson and Molly. The guest bedroom bed is only a full-sized bed and Mason kicks.  I was just falling asleep when I heard him saying “Daddy! Daddy! Daddy!” while walking down the hall.  He climbed on top of me, wedged himself between me and the couch and promptly fell asleep.  With Molly at my feet I soon fell asleep.

I was woken up around 3:00 by Miss Julia.  She wanted a bottle so I made her one.  She drank it and went right back to bed.  Mason was sprawled out on the couch and Becky was sprawled out in the bed.  I decided to sleep in Steve’s recliner.  I woke up around 4:30 with 3 dogs snuggled on me.  Mr. Boots (Steve and Charlotte’s chihuahua) was on one side, Molly was on the other and Jackson was on top of me.  I was covered in small dogs.  I got up to get some water and they all bounded off the recliner.  Molly found refuge with Mason while Jackson went back to his momma.  Mr. Boots decided to whine and whine and whine in front of Steve and Charlotte’s room on the other side of the house.  I eventually let him in so he would quiet down.

Becky, Steve and Charlotte all got up for work at 5:30 and the kitchen light was turned on to make coffee.  I decided that trying to get back to sleep was a waste of time and watched the local news.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

