Skip to content

Easy Potato Au Gratin

February 13, 2011

I needed something to go with dinner and decided to try my hand at making potatoes au gratin.  I said the heck with finding a recipe and decided to just make one up.  Thankfully it turned out absolutely delicious.  Below is the recipe I concocted.

Ingredients:
– 5-6 red new potatoes sliced 1/8 of an inch thick
– 1 cup whole milk
– 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
– 1 tbs flour
– salt and pepper

Directions:

  • Slice the potatoes and layer them in a round Pyrex dish that has been greased with butter. ( I started on the outside and made a swirl patter towards the middle).
  • Salt and pepper the potatoes after each layer.  (I ended up with three layers).
  • Place milk in a pan and warm on stove over medium heat. 
  • Toss cheese in flour. Once the milk is warm add the cheese and stir with a whisk until it is melted. 
  • Pour the cheese sauce over the potatoes. Bake at 350 degrees F for 35-40 minutes until the top is nicely brown. 
One Comment leave one →
  1. Patti Wegmann permalink
    February 27, 2011 7:04 am

    HOORAY MIKE!!!! I thouroughly enjoyed reading about your endevors in the kitchen. This is a fantasticly easy recipe! I have a question about it which I will answer myself through experimentation in my own kitchen. What would happen if you layered the cheese/flower mixture in between the potatos and then threw it in the oven to bake. (one less pot and wisk for clean-up?) You have inspired me to find out. I will get back with you on this. Thanks for the inspiration!!! Keep cooking!!!!
    Patti

Leave a Reply

