Skip to content

Trevor Bayne Wins the Daytona 500

February 21, 2011

Every year when the Daytona 500 rolls around I get excited about NASCAR.  This excitement usually last for one or two more races and then selected ones over the course of the season including Bristol, Martinsville and Talladega.  Part of my lack of interest in following faithfully is my driver, Bobby Labonte has not been a serious threat for the title since leaving Joe Gibbs Racing. 

This year, I decided to change allegiances.  Bobby was great but I cannot name his sponsor or number anymore.  Instead, I decided that I would pull for Kevin Harvick in the #29 Budweiser Chevrolet.  I like his attitude and the way her races which is hard but not dirty like Kyle Busch. 

Yesterday we watched the race and within minutes of turning it on Harvick blew his engine and was done for the day.  My interest level immediately plummeted but I decided to keep watching to see how Little E and Bobby did.  I am glad I did because it turned out to be a great race.  Junior had a rough day, but Bobby Labonte helped push the eventual winner, Trevor Bayne across the finish line. 

Bayne is a rookie and this was his first start at Daytona.  He also drives the #21 Wood Brothers Ford which is loaded with history.  It was great seeing him and his team get a win. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

