Skip to content

Miss Julia is One

May 3, 2011

Exactly one year ago at 12:14 p.m. Miss Julia came into this world.  Her arrival was coaxed along by the able hands of Dr. Andrea Friall.  She was long (20 1/2 inches), and tipped the scale at a respectable 7 lbs 5 oz.  She was very pink with dark hair, and I instantly fell in love with her.

For the first 2 months of her existence each night she fell asleep on my chest.  The rest of the night was spent snuggling next to me in my arm like a football with periodic bottle breaks.  Becky traces the exact moment to when she was spoiled to this two month stretch (and I tend to agree but dispute it is a bad thing).

Over the next months Miss Julia started to grow and change.  She learned to sit up, each some crunchies (when Mason would allow her some) and started babbling.  When she learned to crawl things really got fun as she started exploring the house, eating dog food, playing in the water bowl and trying to get into every electrical socket. 

Miss Julia has a very sweet personality (she’s my puddin’ head).  She loves to laugh and enjoys being the center of attention.  Two nights ago I was feeding her in the high chair.  She was eating and I was just out of her line of sight.  She started dancing (rocking from side to side) and smiling.  She knew I wasn’t looking at her and she craned her neck, titled her head and shot me her goofy grin.  She was covered in mashed taters and looked adorable. 

Last night we were on the swing set. She was sitting in her green swing as I pushed her and Mason.  They were both laughing and Mason was singing the “Swing Swing” song.  Julia craned her neck to look back at me. Every time she swung towards me I caught a glimpse of her beautiful blue eyes.  Eventually a little hand started grabbing for me and I plucked her from the swing.  She smiled, latched onto me like a baby koala and exclaimed “da da da!”

Moments like this have made the past year anything but dull.  I love having a little girl to spoil, love on and protect and am looking forward to watching her grow and explore in her 2nd year.  I love you Julia!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

