Skip to content

Kohler Customer Service has ESP

May 18, 2011

Kohler shipped me a new seal for the brand new sparkling yet to be defiled toilet. I shut the water off, twisted the canister out and put the new seal in place.  It took 5 minutes total and when I finished I turned the water on and listened.  I did not hear any water leaking out of the tank!

My joy lasted about 10 minutes until I heard the water click on.  My first thought was, seriously? It’s a brand new toilet. This should not be happening.  My second was to shut the water off so money would not flow all night long. 

Once the kids were in bed, and a beer was safely in my hand, I did what any normal 30-something year old would do, I wrote a blog about my toilet issues and posted it to WordPress and knocked out a tweet.  

Mike Bonfanti

@mikebonfanti Mike Bonfanti
Annoyed at Our Kohler Toilet http://wp.me/p5TzT-14m
 
When I checked my Twitter time line the next morning I had a new follower and this little nugget:
  
Kohler Co.
KohlerKohler Co.
@mikebonfanti Saw your tweet/blog and wanted to follow up on this problem. I see you called on 5/6, have you received the parts yet? ^JJ
 
I thought it was pretty cool that Kohler had someone keeping tabs on Twitter and replied to them: 
 
Mike Bonfanti

@mikebonfanti Mike Bonfanti
@Kohler JJ – I received the part and installed it yesterday. It is still leaking. Not sure where to go from here. Thanks for the tweet!
 16 May via web
 
When I called Kohler yesterday morning to see what else could be done I was connected to an operator.  I explained the issue and she looked at my file.  She then informed me that a new value had already been shipped out. She indicated it had been done by JJ via Twitter. I was stunned. Customer service is ususally a miserable experience full of “dropped calls”, voicemail dead ends and long hold times.  Kohler’s on the other hand is amazing.  I really cannot say how impressed I was and after thanking her I hung up and checked my timeline.  Sure enough I saw this:
 
Kohler Co.
KohlerKohler Co.
@mikebonfanti Mike sorry to hear that. I’ll send you an entire new valve to fix the issue. Parts are in stock and will arrive in 5-7 days^JJ
 
A huge thanks to JJ and hopefully the part will arrive in the next couple days so I can install it this weekend. I do not want to call Kohler back, but if I do at least I know they will be responsive and work their hardest to correct the problem.  And for that I am very grateful.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 9:49 pm

    argh!

    I got a very strong recommendation to buy a Toto toilet if I was ever in the market.

    we have one up here in the shack and I am truly impressed with the product.

    I am convinced that if I dropped a watermelon in the bowl and flushed it, it would go down.

    If Kohler doesnt work out, try here:

    http://www.totousa.com/Products/Toilets.aspx

  2. May 25, 2011 4:52 pm

    The flushing power of the Kohler is impressive. I still need to replace the valve. That is on my list of things to do tonight.

  3. May 25, 2011 8:41 pm

    it is kind of neat that Kohler is keeping tabs on their products that way.
    living out here in the ‘holler’ I don’t have AT&T service.
    I once tweeted about my AT&T Microcell(TM) and I got some kind of whore-y AT&T salesman start ‘following’ me.

    on a lighter note… it’s 8:40PM and there is a deer right outside my window looking at me….
    What paradise.

Leave a Reply

