Skip to content

Casserole Delivery on a Steamy Night

May 24, 2011

A neighbor of ours recently lost her job.  Becky spoke with her last week and when I got home she was working on a casserole.  She packed it in a little bag along with a jar of homemade jam and a little note. 

I loaded the kids in the wagon and with the bag in the other hand we walked down to their house. It was a little after 6 o’clock and it was 90 degrees outside.  By the time I made it to their house I was sweating and Mason was asking for juice. 

I pulled the wagon onto their walkway and rung the doorbell.  Nothing.  I rang it again and still no one came to the door.  I was afraid they were not home but noticed both cars were in the driveway.  I gave the door another knock and they came out onto the porch.  They were very thankful for the casserole and jam and I told them if they needed anything to give us a call. 

With the delivery made Mason wanted to go for a long walk.  Thankfully I was able to persuade him it would be more fun to go home and get some lemonade. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

