Skip to content

The First Tomatoes of Summer

May 25, 2011

This past March I planted two tomato plants (the Patio variety) in containers.  I set them in the front bed and over the past months have watched them grow and bear fruit.  They are a determinate tomato plant and are about 3 1/2 feet tall and full of tomatoes.  Some are just about ripe while others are small and green. 

Leaving for work I noticed two tomatoes that looked like they were ready. They were a pretty burnt orange color and about 2 inches in diameter.  I almost picked them but decided they needed another day in the Florida sunshine. 

When I got home the plant they were on was bent over.  I leaned it against the porch and noticed during the day the two tomatoes I had my eye on had ripened a little more.  I plucked them from the vine and brought them into the house.  I sliced one open and took a bite.  It was sweet and tasted like summer. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Teri permalink
    June 4, 2011 11:17 am

    I absolutely believe that tomato sandwiches should be their own summer food group (or portioned plate section, whatever). I should have planted tomatoes too.

Leave a Reply

