Skip to content

Allergic to Royal Blue and Orange

May 28, 2011

I hate shopping for clothes.  If I had my way I would wear khaki pants with a white shirt to work 5 days a week.  On the weekend I would wear khaki shorts with a solid color polo.  The polo could be any solid color, red, blue, pink.  I’m kind of crazy.  Footwear would consist of my reliable cap toes during the work week and flip flops on the weekend.

Becky does not see eye to eye with me on the fashion front.  At least once a year she goes out and buys me a bunch of clothes so I look presentable.  Usually she does all the heavy lifting, I say thank you and hang the clothes in my closet.

Today was different and Becky steered us towards Belk on the way to do our grocery shopping.  While I held Julia she zipped around the mens department putting together various outfits.  She also made me pick out a pair of docksiders.

“What’s that?”

“Do you like them?”

“Yes, but I’m not wearing Gator colors.”

“What?”

“You got me a royal blue shirt, an orange shirt and shorts that match. There is no way I am buying or wearing Gator colors.”

“Are you serious? How old are you?”

“I don’t care if you think I am crazy. Royal blue and orange are not happening.  Let’s pick something else out.”

She eventually settled on 5 different polos, a couple of pairs of shorts, one of those Columbia shirts and a pair of shoes.  She was happy as we left the store, Julia was happy and even I was happy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Courtney permalink
    June 1, 2011 7:34 am

    Good for you! No self-respecting Noles fan wears those colors if they remotely resemble a Gator ensemble! Don’t let Becky tell you otherwise! 🙂

  2. charlotte permalink
    June 3, 2011 10:51 pm

    I agree with u on this on mike . No orange and blue .

Leave a Reply

