Skip to content

Planter’s Punch

June 12, 2011

I have never been a fan of rum. Maybe it’s the fact I equate rum with the white fire that sat in the middle of scorpion bowls in college.  However, checking out the Garden & Gun website I saw a recipe for Planter’s Punch.  It called for dark rum, orange juice, pineapple juice and a splash of grenadine.  It looked ridiculously easy.

While running errands on Saturday I stopped to grab a bottle of dark rum.  I had no idea what to get and decided to go with Goslings Black Seal.  When I got home while the kids played in the pool I mixed a couple of them up and sampled the rum straight.  It had some mollasses undertone with a hint of licorice.  It was complex and unlike any rum I had ever sampled.  I really liked it.

As for the Planter’s Punch, it was delicious.  The sweetness from the juice and grenadine was balance with the rum and made for an easy sipping drink on a 95 degree North Florida afternoon.

Planter’s Punch
– 3/4 oz. orange juice
– 3/4 oz. pineapple juice
– 1 1/2 oz. dark rum
– dash of grenadine

Shake all the ingredients together, serve over ice and garnish with an orange slice and cherry.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 7:06 pm

    I’m not a fan of rum — which is unfortunate since my in-laws send me a bottle of Costa Rican (or is it Nicaraguan?) rum every Christmas. I have them stock piled in my cabinet. This recipe sounds like an excellent way of making the rum go down easier. Love Garden & Gun, by the way. Must catch up on my reading.

    • June 14, 2011 10:33 pm

      I am not a huge fan of rum and before making this cocktail never drank it. The dark rum is so much better than its light counterpart! Not sure what kind you have stockpiled, but this easy drink could help you work through a bottle or two!

Leave a Reply

