Skip to content

Waffles, Wimbledon and the Wacissa River

July 3, 2011

I love small appliances.  If we had more cabinet space out kitchen would be chock full of panini presses, food mills and juicers. Sadly, our kitchen in its current form has limited storage.  As a result I have not bought a small appliance in almost 5 years.

That drought ended yesterday when I bought a waffle maker.  I woke up this morning like it was Christmas.  Mason and I watered the garden and then I asked, “do you want waffles little buddy?” He replied with an enthusiastic yes and we went inside to get down to business.

I had no idea how to make waffles and went with a recipe I found online.  While I sifted flour, whipped egg whites, and mixed the batter Mason played with an empty can of baking powder and a whisk.  He is a raw talent in the kitchen but has potential.

The waffles turned out well.  In honor of Wimbledon we enjoyed them with real whipped cream, strawberries and champagne (a fine $10 bottle from the Winn Dixie).  I ate two of them and was stuffed.  Julia ate two of them and wanted to lick the whipped cream out of the bowl.  I have no idea where she puts it.

After breakfast we packed up the kids, piled in Charlotte’s car and headed toward the Wacissa River.  The kids ran aroun on the shore and played in the water while I wished I had hauled down my kayak.

Wicked Good Wimbledon Waffles

Ingredients:
– 2 cups flour
– 2 tsp baking powder
– 2 tbs sugar
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 4 eggs
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 4 tbs unsalted butter melted
– 1 3/4 cups of milk

Directions:

    • Sift flour, salt and baking powder together.
    • Separate eggs, combine sugar and yolks.  Add vanilla and milk.
    • Beat egg whites until stiff peaks form.
    • Combine flour mixture and milk mixture.
    • Fold in egg whites.
    • Spray waffle iron with non-stick spray.
    • Cook waffles per waffle iron instructions (3-5 minutes for me)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

