Skip to content

Garden Update: Week 5

July 4, 2011

The garden continues to grow fairly well.  The white eggplant (Gretel) in the raised bed are growing quickly.  They are full size when they are between 4 and 6 inches long, and should be ready to pick in a week or so.  I left the Ichiban eggplant on the plant and it will have to be picked this week.  There are two eggplants that are getting to the point where they also can be picked.

On a less positive note, the zucchini plants both in the back and front yard are flowering but not producing.  I did some digging and learned that if it gets too hot the plants get stressed out and will only flower.  Despite watering them daily I think I am losing the battle.  I think I may start picking the flowers and frying them up.

The okra plants in the back are almost 3 feet tall while those in the front are barely 18 inches.  The green pepper plants in the back also have several small peppers on it.  The watermelons also seem to be suffering.  I think they need to be pollinated but the bees to this point are not delivering.

Despite the mix results in the two beds this week Mason is starting to help me out in the garden. He woke me up a couple of times this week asking if he could help me water.  He likes helping so much that he tried to go outside last night to water the plants at 9:00 p.m.  It is adorable and I love having my little buddy help me take care of the veggies.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Red Rose permalink
    July 15, 2011 12:07 pm

    It counts very much the quantity and quality of the sun rays all across the day! you can water them all day long but if they have too much or too little sun it is equal with poor water and little care! and another thing…some plants like sunny environments and some like shady ones…

    • July 29, 2011 11:48 pm

      Everything I planted like full sun and gets between 6 and 8 hours of it per day. I think my problems stem from planting the zucchini too late in the season. In N. Florida they needed to be in the ground in the Spring, not the end of May. Lesson learned on my part!

  2. Melanie G. permalink
    July 21, 2011 4:51 am

    You seem to have unusual eggplant, honestly I have never seen white eggplant before except from your blog. I guess the reason why your zucchini is not fruiting is because of the lack of insects that pollinate it. But I think this can be remedied by physically brushing off (with a small brush) the pollen and then transferring them on to the stigmas of the flower.

    • July 29, 2011 11:49 pm

      I never saw a white eggplant until this year! They are smaller than the regular purple ones most people picture when they think of an eggplant. I am very happy with how they are growing. I also learned the zucchini did not fruit because it was too hot. We had two weeks of 100 degree temps which stressed the plants. Next year they will be in the ground earlier!

Leave a Reply

