Skip to content

Fresh From the Garden

July 31, 2011

I have been looking for something to do with the eggplant and basil growing in my garden.  It would have been easy to make eggplant parmigiana but I wanted something lighter since it is Summertime and the mercury is consistenly poking its head about 95 degrees.

After doing a little digging I found a receipe for Pud Makua Yow and went out to the garden to pick some eggplant and basil.  If I had grown chilis like I had planned I would have had all the ingredients right outside our back door.

The recipe was very easy to make and in now time I had everything cut up and cooking away in the cast iron skillet.  The entire dish took under 15 minutes to make and it turned out amazing.  The eggplant had a nice flavor that was complimented by the basil, soy sauce and garlic.  There also was just enough heat to make it have a nice kick. This is one of my favorite ways to cook eggplant and I will make it again!

Ingredients:
– 1 bunch of Thai basil leaves
– 1 lb of eggplants chopped
– 2 cloves of garlic chopped
– 2 tbs soy sauce
– 2 chili peppers
– 1 tbs sugar
– 1/3 c. water

Preparation:

  • Add garlic to lightly oiled skillet and cook until golden brown.
  • Add eggplant to skillet.  I left the skin on mine since they were very tender.
  • Add water and cover.  Allow to cook for 5 minutes or so until eggplants is translucent.
  • Uncover and add the sliced chilis, soy sauce and sugar.  Cook for 2-3 minutes.
  • Remove from heat and add the basil.  Stir and serve.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

