Skip to content

Garden Update: Week 9

August 1, 2011

Until this past week rain has been hard to come by this Summer. When we got home from our vacation the grass needed cutting and the okra in our raised bed was almost eye level.  I picked a couple early okra this week and am waiting for Okrapalooza to ensue in the next week or two.

I also harvested several white and purple eggplants.  They were all around 6 inches long and along with a large bunch of basil I made some Pud Makua Yow.  It turned out fantastic. I aslo used another bunch of basil to make some blueberry basil simple syrup that makes a fantastic glass of lemonade.

Aside from the okra and basil doing well the rest of my plants have succumbed to the Summer heat.  The zucchini is gone from the back bed and a mere shadow of itself in the front.  My watermelon did better in the front than the back and is actually flowering.  However, I think it’s too late to expect any fruit.  My pepper plants in the back raised bed also did not do too well.  The one pepper that is maturing is rather small.  One lesson I learned this year is to get my plants in the ground much earlier than the end of May.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 6:01 pm

    Just discovered your blog and wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed it. Growing up in Texas, I ate a lot of okra dishes. Here in New England where we now live, it is not very common.

    • August 3, 2011 10:15 am

      Thank you for your kind words! I grew up in New England and okra is very uncommon. I did not encounter it until I moved to North Florida! Funny that after I read your comment my father-in-law dropped of a huge jar of home made spicy pickled okra. 🙂

  2. August 3, 2011 7:25 pm

    I was just looking up eggplant recipes that thought you would appreciate this: http://www.takepart.com/news/2011/08/03/3-ways-to-eat-your-eggplant.

    I don’t know about the picked eggplant though…

    • August 4, 2011 10:28 am

      Thank you so much for the link! The eggplant chips look amazing. I like pickled things, but never tried pickled eggplants. Could be interesting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

