Skip to content

Surrounded By Sickness and Consumed by Peace

August 13, 2011

I am doomed. First Mason came down with a fever.  Then on Friday Julia began running one.  Friday night it was Becky’s turn.  I am the only one left in the house who is still healthy, but I know it is just a matter of time before I catch what they have.  It’s depressing.

In light of everyone feeling bad we did nothing today.  Julia has wanted to be held every waking moment and Mason is the same way.  The three of us spent the day on the couch watching Disney movies.  The kids alternated between watching the movie and sleeping while I held them close and read.

In fact, I had so much time to myself that I started and finished a book in one day. I read Peace by Richard Bausch.  It documents one night by a group of American GIs fighting in Italy during World War II.  I could feel the soldiers’ fear as they stalked the invisible foe up the side of a mountain in a blizzard.  I will not say too much, aside from it was a page turner and a pleasant way to spend the afternoon while hoping the kids’ fevers would not return.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

