Skip to content

Sweet Potato Pound Cake

August 14, 2011

Today was a busy day in the kitchen.   I made a huge pot of chicken soup and pickled okra for the first time. I then turned my attention to making something sweet.  I had my eye on a bourbon pound cake recipe but Becky asked if I would make something else since she doesn’t like bourbon.

I did not want to eat and entire poundcake and decided to make a sweet potato poundcake.  I pulled the recipe from Nancie McDermott’s Southern Cakes and then got the ingredients out.  Before I started I asked Mason if he wanted to help me bake.  “Sure daddy! Let me help!” he said as he bounded off the couch into the kitchen.

Mason helped me measure, stir, and sift as we made the batter.  I even helped him crack his first egg.  We got about 3/4 of it into the bowl which was good enough and made him smile.  The cake turned out perfectly and after dinner we each had a slice for dessert.

Ingredients:
3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
2 sticks butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 cup light brown sugar
4 eggs
2 cups mashed sweet potatoes

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  • Butter and flour a tube pan.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg and salt, and set aside.
  • In a small bowl, combine the milk and vanilla, and set aside. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars until they’re light and fluffy, and then add the eggs one at a time, blending well after each egg.
  • Add the mashed sweet potatoes and mix on low for about a minute. Add half the flour mixture and mix on low or with a wooden spoon until just incorporated into the batter.
  • Add half of milk, continuing to mix gently, then the rest of the flour, mixing gently again, and finally the rest of the milk, mixing gently until the batter is smooth.Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 60-75 minutes, until a cake tester comes out clean. If you can bear it, let it cool in the pan on a rack for about 20 minutes before gently flipping it out of the pan and onto the rack.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

