Skip to content

Garden Update: Week 11

August 15, 2011

One of the coolest things about planting my garden has been seeing the flowers the vegetable plants produce.  The purples eggplant flower was beautiful and this weekend I noticed several on my okra plant.  They were cream colored with a purplish center.  The petals overlapped one another and were very delicate.  It was beautiful.

This week was a good week for my okra.  I forgot to pick for a couple of days and by the time I had gotten back some of the pods had grown to over 5 inches long.  I heard that when they get this big they can be tough, but they tasted fine to me.

I ended up canning what I did not eat.  It was my first time canning something aside from jam.  I have not tasted the pickled okra but hope they are edible.

Aside from the okra the only other plants that are continuing to produce are the basil and my Icheban eggplants.  I have two that need to be picked later this week.  I aslo need to pick some basil as it is beginning to bolt.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Patti Wegmann permalink
    August 19, 2011 7:04 am

    Hey Mike, If you pinch off the bud shoots from your basil plants they will live longer. I have a few plants that I keep in pots that I bring in during the cold weather and they are over 3 years old now.
    Your Friend,
    Patti Wegmann

Leave a Reply

