Skip to content

Garden Update: Week 12

August 22, 2011

The eggplants are about done for the season.  I picked the last two purples ones this week and gave them to my father-in-law to grill.  There are two small white ones still on a quickly withering plant that I need to pick soon.

With the demise of the eggplant the only two things that continue to thrive are the okra and basil.  I plucked the tops of all the basil off this week to keep them from bolting.  I think it did the trick as I noticed some new leaves sprouting while picking okra this evening.

Speaking of okra, the pods grow really fast.  I noticed some of the plants were listing tonight and went to investigate.  At the top of them were three or four pods between 9 and 10 inches long.  Once they were removed the plants popped back up to continue producing super sized okra in the humid North Florida evening air.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

