Skip to content

Garden Update: Week 13

August 29, 2011

The end is near! The end is near! The end is near! I ripped out the pepper, watermelon and eggplant last week.  All that remains are four okra plants and four basil plants.  The okra is looking very sad and losing leaves on a daily basis.  The basil is still looking pretty good and I really need to get some pine nuts to make pesto.

Off the top of my head my summer garden produced:
– About a dozen eggplant
– A pile of okra
– 1 sad pepper
– 0 watermelons
– 24 tomatoes
– More basil than I could use

I think I am going to give the garden one more week before I pull the remaining plants out to prepare for our fall garden.  I am looking forward to trying to grow some things from seeds.  I also would like to find some vegetables that Becky actually likes to eat since she doesn’t really like okra or basil.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

