Skip to content

Brewsday Tuesday: Yuengling

August 30, 2011

Yuengling is a beer unavailable in New England.  When I posed on facebook I was sitting down with a Yuengling watching a game I was immediately hit with comments about how great the beer is and a desire to try it by my Yuengling starved friends.  I have to say I feel bad for them since it is a decent economically priced lager.

Name: Yuengling Traditional Lager

Brewed by: Yuengling Brewery

Style/ABV: American Amber / Red Lager / 4.4%

Appearance: Pours with a thin head that quickly melts away.  Clear amber color.

Smell: Sweet malt, and slight citrus hops.

Taste: Grainy, grassy with some bitterness with a dry finish. Refreshing and crisp.

Mouthfeel: Medium with moderate to high carbonation.

Overall: A great go to lager when I tire of IPAs blowing my taste buds away. Miles ahead of the other adjunct lagers and can serve as a gateway beer for those adverse to leaving the comfort of Bud/Millers/Coors.

Final Grade: B

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

