Skip to content

Seminoles Down Warhawks to Open 2011 Season

September 3, 2011

Slogging through the humid North Florida summer I thought it would never arrive. I woke up this morning to Mason climbing over me into bed and then realized it had arrived. Game day.

We spent the morning taking a trip to Thomasville.  When we got back Mason and I changed into our Seminole gear and headed to Tallahassee.  Kickoff against the University of Louisiana at Monroe was set for 3:30 p.m. and Becky slathered Mason in SPF 1,000.

I wanted to get him a hat so his blonde head would not get burned.  We stopped at the mall but Garnet & Gold was packed and he did not like the little kid hats.  Instead we went to the stadium store and he picked out the same hat Jimbo Fisher wears.  He did not care it was huge and wore it as we walked around the stadium.

I wanted to meet up with my friend Kirk at his counsin’s tailgate but it was getting late.  Instead we went to our seats after making a stop at the concession stand.  Mason had been looking forward to popcorn the entire afternoon and happily attacked the kernels while we watched the Seminoles warm-up.  He liked watching Osceola and Renegade and the band the most.  He sat on my lap and gave me his hat. “You weat it daddy. It’s cool.”

As for the game, the ‘Noles got off to a slow start and led ULM 7-0.  The offense was not clicking but the defense looked good.  Mason was pretty hot at this point and asked told me he was ready to go home.

We excused ourself and made our way to the car.  While walking he turned to me and said “I had fun daddy. I like the Seminoles.” I have a great afternoon with my little buddy and on the way home grabbed him an ice cream to help him cool down.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 3:11 pm

    Aww, that’s cool you guys went. I think my son went to one when he was about 16 months but hasn’t been to one since. I would love to take both my boys to a game this season.

    • September 6, 2011 4:26 pm

      It was fun! If you want to take them both, next week might be the time to do it. Tickets are cheap and it’ll be a 6:00 kickoff. Go ‘Noles! 🙂

Leave a Reply

