Skip to content

Brewsday Tuesday: Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale

September 20, 2011

Lately there has been a hint of briskness in North Florida air.  This is the time of year when I start thinking about baking apple pies and drinking beers with a bit more robustness than the ales and lagers that fill the summer months.  I was in the mood for a pumpkin ale but the choices at the local Winn Dixie were limited.  I setted on Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale and hoped for the best.

Name: Blue Moon Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale

Brewed by: Coors Brewing Co.

Style/ABV: Pumpkin Ale / 5.7%

Appearance: Pours a deep copper color with a firm two finger head.  Head retention is good and as the beer disapperas from my glass it leaves behind some lacing.

Smell: Very subtle hints of nutmeg, cinnamon and caramel flavored roasted malt.   I did not detect a hint of pumpkin.

Taste: Malts with hints of spice and a cinnamon nutmeg finish.  Again I did not detect a hint of pumpkin.

Mouthfeel: Medium with light carbonation.

Overall: A very subdued fall brew.  I did not taste any pumpkin in the ale.  A more accurate name for this beer would be Spiced Fall Ale.  It is a non-offensive gateway beer that could serve as a vehicle to get someone to try a “craft brew.”

Final Grade: C+

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 11:49 am

    I wanted to try this one after having the Sierra Nevada Tumbler. I like that Fresh Market carries a lot of these seasonal beers in single bottles so I can shop and get beer and don’t have to got Market Square or ABC.

    • September 26, 2011 1:35 pm

      That is exactly what I usually do! However, I didn’t have time to go buy singles and Monticello’s craft beer offerings are pretty limited. I am going to pick up some different kinds next time I am in Tally and have a few minutes to get to Fresh Market/ABC.

Leave a Reply

