Skip to content

Fall Garden Update: Week 4

October 3, 2011

Four weeks into growing my fall garden and I am getting a better feel for what is growing well and what is not.  In the first category is the cucumber plant, my green beans and the carrots.  The cucumber plant has more than quadrupled in size and is loaded with yellow flowers. The green beans all came up and are starting to get what appears to be buds.  However, since I have never grown green beans I am not sure how tall they get before they start producing fruit.  The carrots are also coming in well and are starting to get nice green tops.  I have no idea what is going on under the soil but will trust things are proceeding as they should.

In the not so good category are the broccoli, beets and collard greens.  One broccoli plant in a pot died and I replaced it with a new plant.  The three that are in the raised bed look stunted and the leaves are starting to turn a purplish color.  I have no idea what is going on with them.  The beets are stuck on 2 leaves and are not growing.  I am unsure as to the reason for their stunted growth.  The collard greens also all look sickly.  I think I may have planted them too close together.

I am going to give the broccoli, beets and collard green another couple of weeks.  I hoped that the first application of fertilizer would give them a kick start but it did not.  I also need to look into a micro-irrigation system since the soaker hose I bought does not work well with seedlings and small plants.  I think that more consistent watering could help my garden rather than a spray with the hose in the morning and one in the evening.

Leave a Reply

