Skip to content

Brewsday Tuesday: Punkin Ale

October 18, 2011

Dogfish Head beers are some of the finest in America and Punkin Ale came highly recommended.  I was excited to see how their fall seasonal stacked up to the others I had tried in October.  Sadly, it was an unpleasent experience that left me wanting to scrape the top layer off my tongue.

Name: Punkin Ale

Brewed by:  Dogfish Head Craft Brewery

Style/ABV: Pumpkin Ale / 7.0%

Appearance: Pours like liquid pumpkin. The color is a deep orange with a nice two finger fluffy white head.  It looks inviting in my imperial pint glass. This was the best part of this beer.

Smell: Over ripe pumpkin, nutmeg, all spice and cinnamon.  Also some brown sugar sweetness from the malts.

Taste: Starts with a mild sweetness then the spices begin to dominate.  Cinnamon, all spice and nutmeg all mixed together.  They are a bit over powering.  Finishes with an acrid squash flavor.  Aftertaste is a mix of squash and some spice. Not a fan at all.

Mouthfeel: Medium body with medium carbonation.

Overall: After my first sip I was not sure I was going to be able to make it through the pint.  I soldiered on and eventually reached the bottom of the glass.  The relatively high alcohol content would eventually numb the senses and make this beer more palatable, though I would recommend avoiding it all together.

Final Grade: D+

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 8:59 am

    I tried a Shock Top Pumpkin at Calico Jack’s while watching the FSU game last Saturday. The first sip didn’t really give a pumpkin flavor until the after taste hit. I like you wanted to scrape my tongue of its flavor. I opted for the plain Shock Top for my 2nd beer. I was highly disappointed as I rather enjoy the Shock Top Raspberry.

    • October 19, 2011 9:07 am

      Happy to see I’m not the only one who wanted to scrape their tongue after drinking a pumpkin ale. I’m not completely against fruit flavored beers, but I think I’ll only buy a single to test for my Brewsday Tuesday reviews. I am happy I didn’t buy a 6-pack of this one.

Leave a Reply

