Skip to content

Swearing In Ceremony In Jacksonville, Florida

October 20, 2011

This morning I drove over to Jacksonville, Florida to be sworn into the United States District Court for the Middle District of Florida.  I always thought it was odd Jacksonville was in the Middle District rather than the Northern District.  The drive over was uneventful but finding parking was a challenge thanks to Jacksonville’s very badly laid out downtown.  It is a series of one way streets that do nothing to foster a sustainable area and make driving a series of right hand turns.

Eventually I was able to find a spot behind the courthouse.  It is a beautiful three tier structure with the top portion enclosed in glass.  I made my way around the front and into the atrium.  Security was a breeze but they made me take off my belt and show them the tops of my socks.  The guy behind me had some pretty sweet pink and lime green argyles on.

Once I was cleared through I took the elevator to the 5th floor and waited for the proceedings to begin.  At the last swearing in ceremony I attended for the Southern District of Georgia there were 5 attorneys.  This one was packed with somewhere between 55 and 70 attorneys present.  The magistrate judge administered the oath and then gave us our certificates.  I stuck around for a little longer before heading back to Tallahassee.  It was a nice morning and I am glad I got to familiarize myself with the court house.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

