Skip to content

The Streak Lives

October 27, 2011

This year I made a goal of reading one book a month.  Through September I was 9 for 9.  I was not sure what I wanted to read this month and Becky suggested Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier.

I had no idea what to expect but I slowly began to make my way through the book.  The more I read, the more I was intrigued by the story.  Why did Ambrose die? Was Rachel evil? Would Philip fall prey to the same thing that felled his cousin? With these questions swirling I was eager to read whenever I had a free moment.

I was able to finish the book a couple of nights ago and thoroughly enjoyed it.  du Maurier answers some questions but still leaves it up to the reader on how to interpret several of the most important points of the story.  Once Becky finishes Lonesome Dove I am going to suggest she read My Cousin Rachel so we can both discuss the story.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

