Skip to content

Money Well Spent: The $5 Breadmaker

November 6, 2011

Whenever I check out Craigslist I look for three things.  Sprint phones, a kegerator and a breadmaker.  Usually I strike out on all three but on Friday I saw a newly posted ad for a breadmaker.  The person indicated they were moving away and were looking to sell it for $5.  I shot the seller an e-mail asking if the breadmaker was still for sale.  She told me it was and said I could take a look at it around 1:30 p.m.

On my way to inspect the breadmaker I was not expecting much.  I assumed it would be pretty beat up and at the end of its usefullness. I figured if I used it once or twice I could see if I wanted to spend more money on a new unit.

When I arrived the lady let me in.  Her house was bare except for a dining room table, the breadmaker and 2 other small appliances.  She told me she used the breadmaker a couple of times when she first purchased it, but had not used it in years.  Aside form little dust and a scratch or two it looked brand new.  I handed her $5 and headed out with my new small appliance.

The breadmaker is made by Hitachi and I was able to find a manual and some recipes online.  On my way home I bought some yeast, butter and bread flour to make a test loaf.  I cleaned the unit and then added the water, flour, sugar, salt, butter and yeast to the pan.  The controls were easy to figure out and after pushing the appropriate button I was informed in 4 hours and 10 minutes I would have a fresh loaf of bread.

Becky and I watched a movie as the bread maker kneaded the dough, let it rise, beat it down, let it rise again and finally baked it.  A quiet timer went off when the bread was finished.  I opened the lid not knowing what to expect and was greeted by a medium sized loaf of bread.  After whacking the pan a couple of times the bread fell onto the counter.  I gave it a flick with my finger and heard a nice hollow thud.

I grabbed my bread knife and cut off a piece.  I put a little butter on it and took a bite.  The crust was crispy and the inside was fluffy. It was very good bread.  Better than anything you can buy at most markets around here and I was thrilled to know there were only 6 ingredients in my bread and no artificial anything, chemicals or preservatives.  Buying this breadmaker for $5 was money well spent!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2011 10:26 pm

    Organic Bread now the only thing left is a warm beverage to complement ……

    how do u take your coffee???

    • November 7, 2011 4:49 pm

      Sometimes black, sometimes with some cream and sugar, always hot, even in the summer.

  2. November 7, 2011 9:01 am

    I went to sell my breadmaker on Craigslist and found that the little kneading paddle was missing. Kinda mad about that.

    • November 7, 2011 9:14 am

      That’s too bad! Without the kneading paddle its kind of useless. I think you can buy them online for fairly cheap depending on what kind it is. Why are you selling it?

      • November 8, 2011 9:38 am

        I just wasn’t using it. I basically put it at the street with a sign that said no paddle. And it was gone in moments! Though, people in my neighbourhood tend to scavenge; lots of older folks who like that sort of thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

