Skip to content

Fall Garden Update: Week 9

November 7, 2011

As a result of turning the clocks back an hour by the time I get home it is already dark.  This may be a blessing in disguise since my garden is pretty sad.  I finally tore out all of the stunted collards.  None of them grew an inch since I planted them 45 days ago.  In fact, most of them were losing their leaves and looked rather sad.

On a more positive note I picked two more cucumbers.  That brings the grand total to four.  I thought I was going to have a lot more but I think the plant being in a shadey spot is limiting things.

The beets and carrots are also not doing well.  I pulled out a beet plant that had been growing for 9 weeks and there was nothing on the end of the leaves.  They were also not very big for having been in the ground for so long.  I think the problem is I did not add enough organic matter to the soil following the long summer season.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

