Skip to content

A New Way to Make a Roast (For Me At Least)

November 20, 2011

Usually when I make a roast I use a roasting bag and the McCormick’s seasoning packet.  The results are pretty good and by the end of dinner a large portion of the vegetables and meat have disappeared. Today I decided to try something new.  I bought a piece of london broil from Winn Dixie and instead of putting it in a bag I busted out Becky’s old roasting pan.  I placed the slab of meat in the bottom and surrounded it with a pile of potatoes, onions and carrots.  I poured a large container of beef stock over the contents of the pan and then seasoned it with tarragon, thyme, salt and pepper.

After sitting in the over at 350 degrees for a little over 2 hours I opened the lid and added a carton of button mushrooms.  The roast and vegetables went back in for another hour or so until the meat was finished.

The results on the new way I made the roast were phenomenal.  It was moist, and the mushrooms added a really nice flavor.  Becky used the juices to make some gravy and we had homemade bread with the meal.  It was delicious!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

