Skip to content

Out Foxed by Deer and Doves

December 26, 2011

The alarm on my phone went off at 5:30 a.m.  I rolled out of bed, tossed my clothes on and flipped the coffee pot on.  By the time my cup was full Steve was outside waiting for me in the truck.  Following a muffled hello we silently drove towards Greenville, Florida with Peyton asleep in the back.

We arrived at the farm.  Peyton remained in the truck while Steve drove me out to the back stand.  I climbed in and leaned the 30-06 against the wall.  Daylight slowly approached.  I peered out the front of the standing hoping to see a deer of any kind.  Nothing.

I sat there for about two hours then decided to meet up with Steve and Peyton in the front.  We made a quick run to the gas station for some breakfast then decided to try our hand at dove.  It was over cast and windy.  We did not see a bird or squirrel on the farm, though we saw plenty on our way home dotting the powerlines.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

