Skip to content

Letting My Belly Pick the NFL Playoffs: The 2011 Edition

January 7, 2012

The NFL Playoffs kick off this weekend! Every year our Super Bowl menu is based upon food and drink that hails from the home of the two teams.  For example, if New England and Green Bay make the Super Bowl you can expect a mix of chowder and brats to be on the table.  Below are my picks for the first slate of games based solely on each teams’ representative foods and brews.

AFC

Cincinnati Bengals vs. Houston Texans

Becky’s family worked in Cincinnati during World War Two.  When they moved back to Florida they brought back Skyline chili.  Becky grew up eating it as normal spaghetti.  Off the top of my head I cannot think of any beer that hails from Cincinnati (or Ohio for that matter). Houston is in Texas. When I think of Texas, I think of bbq. The possibility of making a brisket for the Super Bowl makes me drool.  Houston is home to the Saint Arnold Brewery.  I have no idea if I can get their beer in Florida, but putting cheese and onions on spaghetti is wrong. Winner: Texans

Pittsburgh Steelers vs. Denver Broncos

There is a place in Tallahassee called Ray’s Steel City Saloon.  They serve a sandwich called the Trucker’s Jumbo which consists of a large piece of fried bologna.  I think it includes other items, but the thought of a slab of bologna repulses me.  Pittburgh also makes me think of Steel Reserve beer.  Yum.  On the other hand, Denver, Colorado makes me think of Rocky Mountain Oysters.  Denver’s beer is better, but I am not eating bulls’ balls. Winner: Steelers

NFC

Detroit Lions vs. New Orleans Saints

I’ve never been to Detroit and when I think of the city it paints an image of crime and despair.  However, while their city is collapsing in on itself Detroiters apparently love to eat something called a Coney. It consists of a hot dog with beanless chili, raw onions and mustard. Square deep dish pizza is also a specialty of the area.  Detroit looks like it has some microbreweries, but nothing I have ever sampled.  As for New Orleans, they come on strong. Red beans and rice, muffalettas, gumbo, etouffee and crawfish among others with a pile of Arbita to wash it down. Sorry Detroit. Winner: Saints

Atlanta Falcons vs. New York Football Giants

Georgia means bbq’d pig sure Atlanta might be fancier than its Southern hinterlands, but they still have some solid bbq joints.  They also are home to the Atlanta Brewery Company and Sweet Water Brewing Company.  As noted in the 2010 edition of Picks by My Belly New York City is a tough competitor.  New York thin crust pizza, hot dog, and pastrami.  I am also a sucker for a Brooklyn Lager.  I’m craving some good pie. Winner: Giants

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

