Skip to content

Can You Please Pee in the Cup?

January 26, 2012

Yesterday afternoon  at big boy school Mason used the potty a lot (a good thing), and complained his pee-pee hurt (a not so good thing).  After relying the symptoms to Nurse Debbie she told me it could be a urinary tract infection, and made him an appointment.  She also told me I had to bring in a urine sample.  I asked how I was going to get a 3-year old to pee in a cup, and she told me I would figure something out as she hung up the phone with a chuckle.

This morning, in addition to getting out of the house on time with both children fully clothed, I had to collect the sample.  Mason was lying in our bed watching FOX News, and I walked in to get him dressed. “Hey buddy, do you have to go potty?” I asked.  He shook his head, rolled over and pulled the covers over his head.  “I don’t have to use the potty. It’s sleepy time, not wake-up time.” he said from under the blanket.  I did not want this to turn into a tear filled morning so I left him alone.

A few minutes later he walked into the kitchen and said he needed to go potty.  I grabbed a small container used to pack salad dressing in Becky’s lunch, and followed him to the bathroom.  “Mason, can you pee in the cup for Miss Debbie?”  He looked at me with a puzzled look on his face.  “Why does Sadie need my pee-pee?” Sadie is our cat, but since he did not give me an outright no, I went with it.  “Sadie needs you to pee in the cup, can you please do that for daddy?”  He shook his head.  “No, I don’t want to share my pee-pee with Sadie!” While he protested I stuck the cup under the stream and collected a small sample.  Victory! When we were called back at the doctor’s office Nurse Debbie asked if I had been successful.  I handed her the container, and told her she could keep it.

*Note: Everything checked out fine and the little man does not have a UTI.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jerry permalink
    January 26, 2012 9:03 am

    Oh my goodness, you let him watch “Fox” news!!!

Leave a Reply

